A Voice For Arizona’s Children For More Than 25 Years
Print Print |

Awards and Honorees

Children’s Action Alliance honors outstanding leaders for children and families throughout the year with three distinguished awards: the Champion for Children, the Horace Steele Child Advocacy Award, and the Jacque Steiner Public Leadership Award for Children.  CAA welcomes your suggestions for future honorees of the Steiner and Steele Awards using the Award Nomination Form.  CAA accepts nominations year round; the annual honorees are selected by the Board of Directors each January to be presented at the Through the Eyes of a Child luncheon in October.

CAA honors a Champion for Children – an individual who extends beyond the boundary of his or her job, displays the courage to speak out on behalf of those who cannot speak for themselves and who understands that it takes the combined efforts of the public and private sectors to open the doors of opportunity to all of Arizona’s children.

Past Champion for Children Honorees

2016 – Kim VanPelt, St. Luke’s Health Initiatives

2015 – The Honorable Ruth Solomon
2015 – Donna Davis, Expect More Arizona
2014 – Mary K. Reinhart
2013 – Dr. Eve Shapiro
2013 – Kris and Joe Jacober
2012 – Rev. Jan Flaaten, Arizona Ecumenical Council
2011 – Kathy Jorgensen
2010 – Veronica Bossack, AZ Dept of Economic Security
2010 – The Honorable Hector E. Campoy, Pima County Juvenile Court Judge
2009 – Anna Alonzo, Mountain Park Health Center
2008 – David Miller, Arizona Council of Human Service Providers
2008 – (Ms.) Freddy Hershberger
2007 – Karen Novachek, Lutheran Advocacy Ministries and PAFCO
2006 – Ginger Ward, Southwest Human Development
2005 – Martha Rothman, Child and Family Resources, Inc.
2004 – Tim Schmaltz, Center for Spirituality and Ministry in the Marketplace and PAFCO
2003 – Msgr. Edward Ryle, Arizona Catholic Conference
2002 – Ginny Hildebrand, Association of Arizona Food Banks
2001 – Susan Jacobs, Association for Supportive Child Care
2000 – Chris Scarpati, Child Crisis Center

The Horace Steele Child Advocacy Award honors an Arizona citizen who has shown courage, commitment and resolve in improving the lives and life chances of Arizona’s children and families. This award is given annually at the Through the Eyes of a Child Celebration of Youth event.

2017’s Steele Award honoree is Cindy McCain, for her tireless efforts to reduce human trafficking in Arizona.

Past Steele Award Honorees

2016 – Nicole Stanton, Dion Initiative for Child-Well Being and Bullying Prevention

2015- Patti Luttrell, Cancer’s Children Network

2014 – Gene D’Adamo
2012 – Phoenix Children’s Hospital, Banner Health, and the University of Arizona Medical Center
2011 – Armando Flores
2010 – The Honorable Diane McCarthy
2009 – Linda Hunt
2008 – Don Budinger
2007 – R. Thomas Browning
2006 – The Honorable Dan Schweiker
2005 – Steve Mittenthal, PhD
2004 – Roger A. Hughes
2003 – William J. Post
2002 – Eugene and Barbara Polk
2001 – Louise Thomas
2000 – Betty Fairfax
1999 – The Honorable Grant Woods
1998 – The Honorable John Foreman
1997 – Mary Rimsza, MD
1996 – Louis A. Weill, III
1995 – Mike Bielecki
1994 – Melody S. Robidoux
1993 – Kipp Charlton, MD
1992 – Eddie Basha
1991 – Jacque Steiner
1990 – Dan Cracchiolo

The Jacque Steiner Public Leadership Award for Children, in memory of the late Senator Jacque Steiner, is given to a public official who, through tenacious and courageous leadership, improves the lives and life chances of Arizona’s children. This award is given annually at the Through the Eyes of a Child Celebration of Youth event.

2017’s Steiner Award honoree is Dr. Crista Johnson-Agbakwu, MD, MSc, FACOG, for her contributions toward the addressing medical needs of refugee women and girls in Arizona.

Past Steiner Award Honorees

2016 – Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative (JDAI)

2015 – The Honorable Kate Brophy McGee

2014 – The Honorable Leah Landrum Taylor
2012 – Phoenix Children’s Hospital, Banner Health, and the University of Arizona Medical Center
2011 – The Honorable Debbie McCune-Davis
2010 – The Honorable Marie Lopez Rogers, Mayor of Avondale
2009 – The Honorable Robert Brutinel, Presiding Yavapai County Juvenile Court Judge
2008 – The Honorable Greg Stanton, Phoenix City Councilman
2007 – The Honorable Terry Goddard, Attorney General
2006 – The Honorable Jane Hull, former Arizona Governor and
2006 – The Honorable George Cunningham, former Arizona legislator
2005 – The Honorable Carolyn Allen, Arizona legislator
2004 – The Honorable Janet Napolitano, Arizona Governor
2003 – The Honorable Robert Cannell, Arizona senator
2002 – The Honorable Pete Hershberger, Arizona senator